The vocal group SØNK consists of eight singers forming a mixed-voiced septet added human beatbox. The group is dedicated to being in sync with contemporary pop and R&B melodies with a sound deeply influenced by the bright Scandinavian timbre.

SØNK aims to be an acknowledged, high-profile vocal group in the field of contemporary a capella music which is why they seek to take part in performances on big stages inside and outside of Denmark.

SØNK unites singers from well-known and praised Danish choirs. With a common passion and desire to develop vocal and choral music, the eight friends from Aarhus, Denmark, formed SØNK in 2018. In 2019, SØNK was awarded the prestigious Grand Prix and 1st prize in the contest for Vocal Ensembles at the Tampere Vocal Music Festival.

In this video session we will bring the audience back stage in cosy surroundings on the beautiful ‘Helgenæs’ outside of Aarhus, Denmark. Along the way, we’ll tell you about the beginning of SØNK and the viewer will get an exclusive insight into the creative workflow of the group.

Of course, all of this will be supported by the actual music of SØNK. The audience will get a mix of old ‘SØNK-classics’, which participants of the 2019 Tampere Vocal Music Festival will perhaps recognise, and brand new arrangements written during these strange Covid-19 times.


Runtime 33 minutes


Cæcilie Uhre Karlsson – 1st soprano
Sofie Heidemann Augustesen – 2nd soprano
Rikke Jepsen – 1st alto
Maria Bjerre Linnemann – 2nd alto
Kasper Fonnesbæk Andersen – 1st tenor
Gustav Andreas Berg – 2nd tenor
Jonas Skovsbøll Knudsen – Bass
Peter Gomez – Beat Box


God Don’t Leave Me by Highasakite – Ingrid Helene Håvik, arrangement by Gustav A. Berg
Bad Blood by NAO – Neo Joshua, Dan Traynor, arrangement by Rikke Jepsen
Evergreen by YEBBA – Yebba, George Moore, Jin Jin, arrangement by Rikke Jepsen
Pink + White by Frank Ocean – Pharell Williams, Christopher Breaux,  arrangement by Jonas Skovsbøll Knudsen
Tapestry by Liv Dawson – Liv Dawson, Fin Robson, Bruno Major, arrangement by Maria Bjerre Linnemann